Book Review: Little & Lion *Spoilers included*|

25062038

Book: Little & Lion

Author: Brandy Colbert

Published: 08 August 2017

Pages: 327

Rating: ★★★★★

When Suzette comes home to Los Angeles from her boarding school in New England, she isn’t sure if she’ll ever want to go back. L.A. is where her friends and family are (along with her crush, Emil). And her stepbrother, Lionel, who has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder, needs her emotional support.

But as she settles into her old life, Suzette finds herself falling for someone new…the same girl her brother is in love with. When Lionel’s disorder spirals out of control, Suzette is forced to confront her past mistakes and find a way to help her brother before he hurts himself–or worse.

Find Little & Lion on Goodreads here:

 

 


***Spoilers Ahead***

 

Processed with VSCO with acg preset

It wasn’t cool of DeeDee to tell Alicia that Suzzette was hooking up with her roommate.  I’m glad she apologized and she saw what she did was wrong.

I totally get where Suzzette is coming when she’s confused about her sexuality and she’s scared of it too.  That’s about the same with me, I’ve been trying to figure out my sexuality for quite a while and it can be scary at times.

I can’t believe Grace just said ‘No fair, black people aren’t supposed to be able to swim.’ and ‘I just mean… you know Black People don’t like, swim.’  I can’t believe she said that,  well I can because people say things like this every day.  It’s so disrespectful and wrong to say thing like that.

How would we like it if people said like that to us all the time we wouldn’t like it and feel hurt.  I’m glad Emil stood up and stated why people used to think that and still do.  Pretty much teach her about the past even though it’s common knowledge and you learn it in school.  I’m glad Emil did that because Suzzette wasn’t able to because she was so angry.  Suzzette and Emil being the only black people shouldn’t have been the only ones to stand up and say something.  DeeDee should at least have said something, I mean she’s Suzzettes best friend.

Page 116: ‘What made it really awkward was that nobody said anything besides me and Emil.’ – Suzzette

I really enjoyed with book: I thought it was amazing, it made me cry within the last fifty pages a couple of times, this was obliviously a five star read.


| goodreadstwitter | instagram | blog | book tumblr |

One thought on “Book Review: Little & Lion *Spoilers included*|

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑